Wesley M

Verified Customer
Aug 23, 2019

WC88

I'd like to start by saying that if you're willing to take that much care wrapping and packaging a piece of industrial equipment, I'm coming to Canada for Christmas. The presents there must be absolutely spectacular. The steel framework, pallet and individually wrapped pieces is something to behold. I was a little apprehensive about purchasing a chipper for my project. Not because it wouldn't perform as described. I was pretty sure it would chew up and spit out tree limbs and straight material. No, my concern was would it be able to draw in brush that twists and turns without the need to cut it into small pieces. My intended use for the chipper is to clear 15 acres of Autumn Olive. For those unfamiliar with Autumn Olive the best way I can describe it is, if a grape vine and a Crab Apple tree had offspring. It's a twisty thorny bush that can grow 15 feet tall, 6 inches in diameter and travel horizontally indefinitely. The Set-up: I started by fitting it up to the power plant which in this case is a John Deere 2630 a 70 horse power diesel. I followed the directions for set-up and had a couple of issues. First, I couldn't get the stated clearance between the base plate and cutting knives. The best I could do was .240 so flipped the plate and tried again still no go. I had ordered a spare set of knives and base plate, so I simply replaced the base plate with the spare, problem solved. I'm not sure if I'll ever need to replace the base plate so I'm not worried about it. If however, your experience has been that they occasionally need to be replaced, a replacement would be pretty cool. Second was the grease. The manual says to grease at 40 hours. It says nothing about greasing the new unit or what type of grease to use. I pulled the grease fittings and found no grease in the Zerk fittings so I greased the unit careful not to blow out the seals. Due to the fact these bearing turn so slow any quality grease will do so I chose a polyurea grease. At 40 hours I pulled the unit apart to check all the components. When I initially looked over the unit I was a little concerned about some of the welds and potential for cracking in critical areas. We'd always taught our welders to weld up hand. The welds on this machine seem to be a quick down hand. After 40 hours everything still looks good. The only thing I found was the drive sheave lock nut had come loose. There wasn't a keeper on the lock nut. Other than that the blades were sharp and everything else was tight. I gave everything a shot of grease and went back to work. So, what have I learned after 60 hours of chipping? First this WC88 is a beast and will chew up anything you can drag near it. Second, regardless of your tractors horsepower you want the largest chipper your tractor can lift. More often than not when chipping brush that has a lot of branches that twist you will exceed the chippers inlet capacity long before you tax your tractors horsepower. Third the hydraulic infeed is a must. With the hydraulic feed you can control the feed rate which is very nice when dealing with thorny brush and it makes it easier on the tractor when grinding larger brush. The most important advantage of the hydraulic feed is it will flip and roll the branch as necessary to allow for a much bigger piece to pass than one you could feed by hand. Which in turn makes for much less cutting with the chain saw. This is a quality product that over delivers. It's not often that you make a purchase with high expectations and then have them exceeded. I would recommend this product to anyone. A very satisfied customer, Wes Maddix

Robert L

Verified Customer
Aug 19, 2019

WC88

Yes I’m very satisfied. Easy to operate. Works well. Thank you very much. Robert Lalande

Kurt S

Verified Customer
Aug 14, 2019

WC88

Love my WC88! I'm selectively clearing a site for our home build in Vermont, and have untold mounds of limbs, tops, and slash to deal with. I really thought dealing with this mess would take me years, but this chipper is taming this mess way ahead of schedule - it really is a well-designed beast. My tractor PTO is 42 HP, and it has no problem with 6" hardwoods. Will definitely have to consider a WM sawmill to process everything that won't fit into this chipper. Thanks guys!

Kenneth C

Verified Customer
Aug 12, 2019

WC88

I reside in the state of Maine. I spent countless hours on line looking at reviews to help make an informed decision on a woodchipper for my 7 heavily wooded acres. Your video demonstration helped make my decision easy. I can honestly say that this product has been one of the best purchases I have ever made. What a time saver! If you are thinking about making the purchase, just stop and do it. You will not be disappointed. Thank you for such a great product ! Ken

Troy S

Verified Customer
Aug 10, 2019

WC88

It showed up very quick and works way better than I even expected at a way better price than a wallenstein. Very happy!!

Cheryl M

Verified Customer
Aug 09, 2019

WC88

Performs better than expected. I love the thing.

Jamie B

Verified Customer
Aug 09, 2019

WC88

We just love our chipper. It is amazing how quickly it can reduce a pile of brush, and the compact nature of the result is notable. What would take several truck loads to remove with another chipper can be easily fit into a single truck. This alone is a big enough deal to cause comment. We are very impressed, and suspect we shall simply have to buy another one to handle all the work we can now tackle. Full speed ahead!

Bryan N

Verified Customer
Aug 09, 2019

WC88

Wow, this thing is terrific! I've got 30 wooded acres to care for and I knew that leaving all the woody debris that produces around all over the place was not for me. Originally I was set on buying the competition... That is until I ran a thorough side by side comparison. The WC88 really stood out! Woodland Mills clearly thought through all the important details and, in my opinion, bested the competition as a result. Heavy flywheel... 1100 rpm rotation speed... Easy access clam-shell... 4 blades instead of 2 to even out load... even a built in saw holder! After my research was done, I knew that even though the price was a little more, this was the superior machine. I married my WC88 to a smallish-tractor (Kubota L3400 series) knowing full well I would not be chipping 8" wood (that's firewood around here!). This chipper calls for a larger PTO HP rating, but I've had no problem using my small tractor for what I bought it to do (YMMV). In my situation having a larger opening is be the way to go because of all the Y's in the branches I have to deal with. So far I couldn't be happier with my decision! Awesome machine Woodland Mills! Way to go! Very satisfied I went with the WC88!

Paul V

Verified Customer
Aug 09, 2019

WC88

Very satisfied with the prompt delivery have used it a little been cutting firewood can’t wait to get to use it some more will write another review later highly recommended

Scott D

Verified Customer
Aug 09, 2019

WC88

The WC88 Chipper delivers results as promised. The initial set up took under 2 hours. The Steel pallet and cage frame for shipping is genius for preventing shipping damage. I had mine delivered to work for fork lift off load, because the delivery vehicle was tractor trailer. On arrival there were two pieces of the in feed shoot hanging of the pallet. They were secured with large Zip Ties to the chipper main body, so you may want to secure the bottom of them as well. Although I don’t have many hours on the WC88 yet, I can tell this equipment has a long service life ahead of it and the performance thus far has exceeded my expectations. Scott Duckworth Coventry RI

Showing 1-10 reviews of 190.

JOIN OUR NEWSLETTER!